On the second day of foster care, my wife said to, "I'm going to lose my mind."
It only makes sense since the oldest girl started trying her parents at 2 in the morning. Little feet wandering the floor at 2am, bothers mother slightly. Then at 4am, she was found coming out of the babies room, then at 6, she was up and running. That little girl starts talking when she wakes up and doesn't take a breath or even stop talking until she's asleep.
During the afternoon, we went to the park and let them climb all over the slide. It was fun watching them, but if you ever think that will put them to sleep, no way, it just juiced them up.
Then we came back and finally put the playpen up to contain the littlest one. That was after we spent most of the day trying to keep her out of the kitchen. For some reason, she just has this fascination with the linoleum.
After eating dinner, we let the kids play in the living room, and had our daily meltdown when we told the oldest not to stand on the windowsill. After giving her three warnings, I had the temerity to ground her to her room for five minutes. You'd think I was putting her in a dank dark cell all by herself for life.
Five minutes later, we released her from solitary and let her play in the living room.
Tomorrow's lesson? Kacey is a horsie and she gives free rides. (laughs)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
I love it...it only serves you right that you have another Shaleigh on your hands.
ReplyDeleteSo far so good, I haven't yelled at the kids once, but I have had to repeat myself about a million times, and it's amazing how just counting to three makes them pay attention.
ReplyDelete